Purely Gluten Free Oats | Nature’s Path

Current Size: 100%

Healthy Foods

Purely Gluten Free Oats

Pure Oats/ Gluten Free Oats

We believe that everyone has the right to a delicious, organic breakfast, and going gluten free shouldn’t mean sacrificing flavour or quality. That’s why we’ve created the seemingly impossible – breakfast oats that are organic, non-GMO, and full of flavour. Even better, they’re gluten free*! Intrigued? Read on.

What is a gluten free diet?

A gluten free diet avoids wheat, rye, barley, and triticale (a hybrid of wheat and rye). Gluten is a protein complex found in those grains that some people are allergic to or have trouble digesting. Living gluten free is a way of life for many people who either suffer from celiac disease or have a gluten intolerance or sensitivity.


Gluten Free


Notice a new label?         

Have you noticed two versions of Nature’s Path oats labels on the shelves? If so, we applaud your observation skills! Until recently, Health Canada required products containing uncontaminated, gluten-free oats to be labelled ‘Pure Oats’. Health Canada has since revised this rule and is permitting the use of gluten-free claims for gluten free oats and foods that contain them as ingredients. Our ‘Pure Oats’ products have always been gluten free – but now we can say it! (For more information about this visit the Health Canada New Release.)

What’s the difference between Nature’s Path Pure Oats and gluten free oats?

Nature’s Path Pure Oats and gluten free oats are the same. A recent change in Health Canada labelling regulations now allows us to call our Pure Oats what they have always been – gluten free! Both Pure Oats and gluten free oats have been tested to be gluten free*.

Oats are not a gluten-containing grain, so why would we test them? Traditionally, wheat and barley (which both contain gluten) are grown next to oats in the field and the same equipment is used to process them. Because of the threat of cross contamination of wheat and barley, the Canadian Food Inspection Agency previously prohibited the term “gluten free” on any product that contains oats, even if those oats are grown apart from gluten-containing grains. The term ‘Pure Oats’ was previously used to inform consumers about products tested to be gluten free and uncontaminated by wheat and barley. Due to Health Canada’s revision of labelling laws, we can now call these same oats what they really are: gluten free oats.

How do you know the oats are gluten free?

To be considered either gluten free oats or Pure Oats, our oats are tested to have less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten*. We use the R-5 ELISA test method (i), which is the gold standard of gluten testing, to confirm the purity. In Canada, products that make a “wheat free” claim must be tested to have zero ppm of wheat. The only way to get to that number with oat products is to use conventional farming methods and apply herbicides between growing seasons to kill any wheat, rye, or barley that could contaminate the crop. Since using herbicides goes against our always organic philosophy, Nature’s Path instead uses organic oats tested to be gluten free.

Are Pure Oats safe for people on a gluten free diet?

Pure Oats are safe for most people with celiac disease. There have been many studies on the safety of pure oats for people with celiac disease. Clinical evidence shows that most adults with celiac disease can eat up to 50 – 70 grams (½ cup – ¾ cup dry rolled oats) of pure, uncontaminated oats a day. For most children with celiac disease, up to 20 – 25 grams (1/4 cup of dry rolled oats) can be consumed safely per day. (ii)

Like all Nature’s Path gluten-free options, our Pure Oat/ Gluten Free Oat granola, bars, and hot oatmeal are nutritious and flavourful, made with a wide variety of ancient grains, seeds, and spices. Look for the Pure Oats or Gluten Free Oats label to taste what you’ve been missing!

*Our oats are third party tested using the R-5 ELISA test method to confirm they are gluten free.(i) (2013) Study Validates the R5 Competitive ELISA. National Foundation for Celiac Awareness. Retrieved April 24, 2014, from www.celiaccentral.org/research-news/study-validates-r5-competitive-elisa-10134/pg--1.

(i) (2013) Study Validates the R5 Competitive ELISA. National Foundation for Celiac Awareness. Retrieved April 24, 2014, from www.celiaccentral.org/research-news/study-validates-r5-competitive-elisa-10134/pg--1.

(ii) Rashid M, Butzner JD, Burrows V, et al. (2007) Consumption of oats by individuals with celiac disease: A position statement by the Canadian Celiac Association. Can J Gastroenterol.