Gluten Free | Nature’s Path

Current Size: 100%

Healthy Foods

Gluten Free

Gluten-free is more than just a claim on a box. For a lot of people, it’s the only way to eat & we want to assure you that we are dedicated to producing exceptional products and hold your health, along with quality and food safety as our top priorities. That is why we inspect our manufacturing facilities, continue to carry out our own internal testing as well as sending out product to be independently tested to ensure that they are gluten-free. We hold ourselves to extremely high standards of food production and remain absolutely committed to providing a consistently safe product to our customers.

What is a Gluten-Free Diet?

A diet that avoids wheat, rye, barley and oats. There is some discussion regarding the inclusion of oats. It seems that the protein in oats does not damage the villi but the concern is the possibility of cross contamination of a gluten containing grain in the field or during the milling process. At this time in North America only gluten-free, pure and uncontaminated oats are acceptable in a gluten-free diet.

What grains are allowed?

At first the impression is that there is little left to eat. A common question is "what do I have for breakfast?". Luckily there are many gluten-free grains and seeds and they are becoming more common in manufactured foods. The gluten-free grains and seeds are: quinoa, rice, corn, amaranth, buckwheat, flaxseeds, and millet. There are many other ingredients used in gluten-free products such as potato, arrowroot, sago, sorghum, tapioca and teff.

How are your Gluten Free products manufactured?

We are very proud of the 30 Gluten Free products that we have. So much so, we are busy adding more! In order to ensure that our products are safe for those following a Gluten Free diet, we adhere to the following:

  • We manufacture our gluten-free cereals together isolating them from any products that contain gluten.
  • All processing equipment is thoroughly cleaned before a run of gluten-free cereals.
  • To further ensure that our lines are free of any gluten containing grains, a specified portion — at the beginning of the run — is not utilized in gluten-free cereals.
  • Our equipment is inspected in order to maintain our cleaning standards.

How do I know if a product is Gluten Free?

To be certain that a product is Gluten Free, always look for the Certified Gluten Free logo. The Gluten Free logo stands for the independent verification of quality, integrity, and purity of products. Products carrying the Gluten Free logo represents unmatched reliability and for meeting strict gluten-free standards. The Gluten Free Certification Organization (GFCO) is the leading gluten-free certification program in the world.

Are Nature’s Path oat products Gluten Free?

Nature’s Path oat products such as granola cereals, granola bars, hot oatmeal & other cereals containing oats are tested to be gluten free*. Nature's Path oat cereals use specially grown oats known as Pure Oats to avoid contamination with gluten containing grains such as wheat and barley. The oats used to make most commercial breakfast cereals are not specially grown, and are not expected to be gluten-free as there is the possibility of cross contamination with a gluten-containing grain in the field or during the milling process. We are pleased to say that our Pure Oat products are safe for most people with Celiac disease or gluten sensitivity.

*Our oats are third party tested using the R-5 ELISA test method to confirm purity.

These gluten-free oat products are clearly labeled with the Certified Gluten Free logo. You can shop our products here.

Where can I get more information on Gluten Free diets?

  1. American Celiac Society
  2. Celiac Sprue Association
  3. Canadian Celiac Association
  4. Celiac Disease Foundation
  5. Gluten Free Certification Organization